NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY SRINAGAR HAZRATBAL, KASHMIR-190006 (J&K)



MINUTES OF 35th SENATE MEETING

MEETING NO:

35th (Thirty Fifth)

VENUE:

Committee Room of Director's Office

DAY AND DATE:

13th February 2025 (Thursday)

TIME:

11:30 AM

MODE:

Offline & Online

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY SRINAGAR

The 35th Meeting of Senate of National Institute of Technology Srinagar, Hazratbal, Kashmir was held on 13th February 2025 at 11:30 AM in the Committee Room of the Director's Office.

Following were present:

S. No	Name	Designation / Rank
	Prof. Binod Kumar Kanaujia,	
1.	Director,	Chairman
	National Institute of Technology Srinagar	
external M		
2.	Prof. Meenakshi Jain,	
	Department of Architecture, NIT Hamirpur (Attended Online)	Member
	1411 Hamilpur (Attended Chime)	
2	Prof. Naseer Iqbal,	Member
3.	Registrar, University of Kashmir	Welliber
nternal M		
nternal M		
	Prof. Mohammad Farooq Wani,	Member
4.	Professor (HAG), Department of Mechanical Engineering	Wiember
	Prof. G. A. Harmain,	
5.	Professor (HAG),	Member
٥.	Department of Mechanical Engineering	- Incincol
	Prof. Mairaj Ud Din Mufti,	
6.	Professor (HAG),	Member
v.	Head, Department of Electrical Engineering	
7.	Prof. Roohie Naaz,	
	Professor (HAG),	
	Department of Computer Science & Engineering,	Member
	Dean Research & Consultancy	
8.	Prof. Najeeb ud din, Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering & Head IIEDC Centre	Member
9.	Prof. Aijaz Ahmad, Department of Electrical Engineering	Member
10.	Prof. Abdul Qayoom Dar, Department of Civil Engineering	Member
11.	Prof. Manzoor Ahmad Ahangar, Department of Civil Engineering/Dean Faculty Welfare	Member
12.	Prof. J.A. Bhat, Head, Department of Civil Engineering	Member
13.	Prof. Bashir Ahmad Mir, Department of Civil Engineering	Member
14.	Prof. Shameem Ahmad Lone, Department of Electrical Engineering	Member
15.	Prof. Sheikh Nazir Ahmad, Department of Mechanical Engineering	Member
16	Prof. Noor Salam Khan, Department of Chemical Engineering	Member
17.	Prof. Adnan Qayoom, Department of Mechanical Engineering	Member

Del

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY SRINAGAR

18.	Prof. Babar Ahmad, Department of Mechanical Engineering	Member
19.	Prof. Neyaz Ahmad Department of Mathematics	Member
20.	Prof. Abdul Liman, Department of Mathematics	Member
21.	Prof. Kowsar Majid, Head, Department of Chemistry	Member
22.	Prof. Mohd Ikram, Head, Department of Physics	Member
23.	Prof. M.Y. Shah, Department of Civil Engineering	Member
24.	Prof. Javaid Ahmad Banday, Department of Chemistry	Member
25.	Prof. Muhammad Abid Bazaz, Department of Electrical Engineering, Dean Students Welfare	Member
26.	Prof. Syed Kaiser Bukhari, Department of Civil Engineering	Member
27.	Prof. Hamida tun Nisa Chishti, Department of Chemistry	Member
28	Dr. Shaima Qureshi Head, Department of Computer Science & Engineering	Member
29.	Dr Yashwant Mehta, Dean Planning and Development	Member
30	Prof. Seemin Rubab, Department of Physics	Member
31.	Dr. F.Q. Mir, Head, Department of Chemical Engineering	Member
32.	Dr. Gausia Qazi, Head, Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering/ Chairperson, LIRC	Member
33.	Dr Zamrooda Jabeen, Head, Department of Mathematics	Member
34.	Prof. M. Marouf Wani, Head, Department of Mechanical Engineering	Member
35.	Prof. Tanweer Jalal, Department of Mathematics	Member
36.	Dr. Shabir Ahmad Sofi Head, Department of Information Technology	Member
37.	Prof. Prince Ahmad Ganai Department of Physics	Member
38.	Dr. Irfan Samad Wani Head, Department of Metallurgical & Materials Engineering	Member
39.	Dr Jaya Shrivastava, Head, Department of Humanities, Social Sciences & Management	Member
40.	Prof. Atikur Rahman Registrar	Secretary

Note: The list of senate members is not in the order of Seniority.



NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY SRINAGAR

At the beginning of 35th Senate meeting, Prof. Binod Kumar Kanaujia, Chairman Senate/Director NIT Srinagar welcomed all the members of Senate. The Director expressed his gratitude to the members for making it possible to attend this special session of the Senate on short notice.

The Registrar, Prof. Atikur Rahman, then welcomed all the dignitaries of the Senate following which the singular agenda item of the meeting was discussed and the resolution thereof are recorded as under:

Item No.	Particulars		
Senate 35/01	To consider the proposal for Seeking a Panel of Suitable Experts from the Senate for Faculty Recruitment Selection Committees, in terms of Statute 23(5)(a).		
	The Senate discussed the requirement for nominating a panel of external experts to the Faculty Recruitment Selection Committees, as per Statute 23(5)(a) of the First Statutes of NIT Srinagar. Accordingly, the Senate resolved as follows: 1. That, all departments shall submit a list of 'External Experts' who can be		
Resolution 01/35	nominated on the Selection Committees for Faculty Recruitment. It was further resolved that concerned HoDs shall maintain strict confidentiality in preparing the requisite panel of External Experts, however they may engage in discussions with departmental faculty members to finalize specializations for new faculty required at the department.		
	2. The Senate authorizes the Director as Chairman to nominate and add/delete the external experts to the panel submitted by the concerned departments for Selection Committees required for faculty recruitment.		

Meeting came to an end with a vote of thanks to the chair.

(Prof. Atikur Rahman) Secretary Senate/Registrar I/C

> (Prof. Binod Kumar Kanaujia) Director/Chairman, Senate

Copy to:

- 1. All members of the Senate, NIT Srinagar
- 2. Assistant Registrar Director's Office; for information of the Director
- 3. Concerned File